HAVILAND — The Van Wert girls and Tinora boys captured team championships at the 17th annual Wayne Trace junior high track invitational held Thursday evening.
The Lady Cougars totaled 122 points to nip second place Paulding’s 115 for the championship. Lincolnview was third at 84 followed by Spencerville (77), Tinora (32) and Wayne Trace (29).
Spencerville’s Gabi Goecke set the only meet record by winning the pole vault with a jump of 8-0.
Van Wert’s Tabatha Saam won the shot put with a toss of 33-3-1/2 while the Cougars’ Nicole Clay took first in the 400 dash with a time of 1:08.78.

Cassidy Meyers won both the 1600 run (6:03.23) and 800 run (2:46.30) for Van Wert and Madison Turnwald captured the 200 dash championship in 30.01 seconds.
The Cougar 800 relay team of Turnwald, Reagan Priest, Adrianna Grothause and Shannyn Pfau was victorious in 2:04.86 while the 1600 relay quartet of Pfau, Saam, Julia Springer and Clay was first in 4:43.58.
Paulding’s Kaylee Plummer was a double winner, taking first in the 100 hurdles (17.12) and long jump (13-0-1/2). Caitlyn Myers also won the high jump with a leap of 4-8.
In the 400 relay, the Lady Panther squad of Jacee Harwell, Kaylen Hale, Jessica Weller and Myers took first with a time of 56.43.
Wayne Trace’s Madison Chastain had a toss of 71-10 to win the discus with Lincolnview’s Maddie Gorman winning the 200 hurdles in 32.63 seconds. Makenna Klausing also captured the 100 dash with a time of 14.01 for the Lady Lancers.
Tinora took the boys title with 102 points while Van Wert finished second at 89-1/2. Lincolnview (79), Spencerville (75), Wayne Trace (62) and Paulding (43-1/2) completed the field.
Thane Cowan won both the high jump (5-0) and 800 run (2:24.39) for Van Wert while Eli Rager took first in the long jump (14-6-1/2).
Wayne Trace winners included Colton Hower (discus, 103-7-1/2) and Josh Kuhn (200 hurdles, 28.87) while Lincolnview’s Cal Wolfrum captured the 1600 run (4:59.73). The Lancer 400 relay team of Sam Myers, Ethan Swallow, Tristin Miller and Logan Williams also took first in 53.05 seconds.
Gage Bellows captured the pole vault (8-6) for Spencerville.