VAN WERT - The May 6 primary election will not feature a lot of controversy in Van Wert County. Only three candidate candidates are seeking re-election for county office, and only one race for the Republican Central Committee in Van Wert County.

Two Republicans will be on the ballot. Thad Lichtensteiger is looking to win a second term as Van Wert County commissioner. Lichtensteiger won the position in 2010, succeeding Harold Merkle on the commission. He has no opposition on the ballot.

The other Republican is Kevin Taylor who is running to retain his seat as judge of the (Probate/Juvenile Division of the Van Wert County Court of Common Pleas. Taylor has been in that position since being appointed to replace Judge Rex Fortney in March 2012.

On the Democrat side, Van Wert County Auditor Nancy Dixon is seeking re-election. Dixon has worked in the Auditor’s office since 1959 when she began working for her father. She has been auditor since 1973.

The only contest in the central committee election is in York Township where Scott Miller is being challenged by Brian O’Neill.

A Van Wert County man is making a bid for the Ohio State Senate in District 1. Milo Schaffner has filed papers to challenge incumbent Cliff Hite. Schaffner’s papers were filed Feb. 6.

U.S. Rep. Bob Latta is not being challenged in the 5th Congressional District in the primary, but Democrat challenger Robert Fry, a Delphos Jefferson alumnus, will be running against Latta in November. Latta first won the House seat in December 2007, winning a special election to replace former Rep. Paul Gillmor who had passed away earlier that year.