Information submitted

VAN WERT — VFW Post 5803 of Van Wert held its 67th Annual Banquet Saturday evening to honor local high school winners of the Voice of Democracy and Patriot Pen essays.

Law Enforcement Officer of the Year, Greg Blackmore, and Firefighter of the Year, Mike Eversole, were also recognized and honored.

Members of the VWF and community were served a dinner and a enjoyed social hour prior to the night’s awards.

Voice of Democracy winners were first place: Kaleb Cantrell, second: Sage Burden and third: Nathan Ireland. Patriot Pen winners were first place: Erin Miller, second: James Greathouse and third: Emma Leary.