Information submitted

CELINA, Ohio - Wright State University - Lake Campus recently welcomed twenty guidance counselors from high schools representing Auglaize, Darke, Mercer, Van Wert and Shelby counties for the annual appreciation luncheon. In a show of gratitude for the collaboration that local counselors share with the Lake Campus throughout the school year, the Lake Campus treated the attendees to a festive holiday lunch.

Due to construction on campus, this year's event was held in a classroom as opposed to Dicke Hall. The smaller location provided a wonderful opportunity, and a much more intimate environment, to get feedback from the area counselors about their student's college preparation needs. Bonnie Mathies, Lake Campus dean, welcomed the attendees to the event and gave a campus report that included discussions about various academic programs. After lunch, the group moved into a working session facilitated by Lake Campus staff, which focused on the college search process for high school students.

Wright State University - Lake Campus is hoping to align their recruitment efforts and informational materials, with the needs posed by counselors during this discussion. This is an attempt to help local area high school students make well-informed decisions during their college search process.

At the conclusion of the event, counselors in attendance were eligible for a $300 Lake Campus scholarship drawing sponsored by the Western Ohio Educational Foundation. Lake Campus WOEF Scholarship Program Coordinator Sandy Gilbert and Neil Stemley, WOEF Board Member, drew Julie Schosker as this year's winner. The Tri-Star Career Compact Guidance Counselor will be able to award this scholarship to a senior of her choosing.

Over $300,000 in scholarships are available for the 2014-2015 academic year at the Lake Campus. WOEF scholarships are available for undergraduate, new, current, returning and transfer students who attend the Lake Campus and enroll for the required credit hours. Application packets for these scholarships are available at and are due March 1, 2014.

Counselors in attendance were: Kerry Koontz, Van Wert; Jenny Dippold, Marion Local; Wendy Ray, Bradford; Tricia Wendel, New Bremen; Kristina Baughman, Christian Academy; Mickey McConahay and Lisa Ontrop, Parkway; Amy Kaiser, Fort Recovery; Michelle Holsinger, Anna; Vicky Olwine, Versailles; Deb Hinckley, St. Marys; Betsy Armstrong, St. Henry; Kim Seaver, Minster; Julie Schosker, Tri-Star; Bruce Davison, Mississinawa; Meghan Smith, Sidney; Anita Barton, Sidney; Natalie Kanney, Coldwater; Krista Meyer, Botkins; and Lynn Carmean, Celina. For more information, please contact the Lake Campus Office of Student Services at (419) 586-0300.